Chief Shakes Tribal House – Wrangell

This award honors excellence in historic preservation throughout Alaska by recognizing a project, organization, agency, or individual exemplifying the highest standards in Alaska preservation. 

AAHP Opens Nominations for the 15th Annual Historic  Preservation  Awards

2021 Historic Preservation Award Recipients Announced

Anchorage, Alaska (August 25, 2022)Preservation Alaska (dba Alaska Association for Historic Preservation) seeks nominations for its 15th Annual Historic  Preservation  Awards  honoring  excellence  in  historic  preservation throughout Alaska.

This award honors excellence in historic preservation throughout Alaska by recognizing a project, organization, agency, or individual exemplifying the highest standards in Alaska preservation in different categories: Robert Mitchell Historic Architect Award, Lifetime Achievement, Adaptive Use, Stabilization, Renovation, and Restoration Projects; and the Stewardship Award (Property Owners, Organizations, Firms and Governmental Agencies, and Individuals), Historic Advoacy. 

The honoree(s) will be announced at the organization’s annual meeting in November 2022.  

Last year’s recipients were Grant Crosby — Anchorage Robert Mitchell Historic Architect Award; Treadwell Historic Preservation & Restoration Society —Juneau Organization/Adaptive Use Historic Preservation Award; Howard L. Farley, Sr. and Juliana M Farley — Nome Lifetime Achievement Award  for Historic Preservation Advocacy. Trish Neal — Anchorage Lifetime Achievement Award in Historic Preservation.

Instructions, eligibility criteria, and the forms to submit a nomination for the 2021 AAHP Historic Preservation Award can be found online at or contact the organization via email for an electronic copy. The deadline for all nominations is October 1, 2022.   

Founded in 1982 as a private, nonprofit corporation, Preservation Alaska is dedicated to the preservation of Alaska’s prehistoric and historic cultural resources.   Preservation Alaska aids in historic preservation projects across Alaska, and monitors and supports legislation (local, state, and federal) to promote historic preservation, serving as a liaison between local, statewide, and national historic preservation groups. Additionally, the organization publishes a quarterly newsletter and holds educational workshops.

For more information or to obtain the program’s overview and nomination form, please contact Trish Neal, President of Preservation Alaska at 907-929-9870 via email at [email protected] or visit their website Nominations may be sent via email or mailed to AAHP, PO Box 102025, Anchorage, AK 99510. Deadline is October 1, 2022.

2022 Historic Preservation Awards Criteria PDF WORD

2021 Historic Preservation Award Recipients Announced
Anchorage, Alaska (November 19, 2021) – Preservation Alaska announced the awarding of their Historic Preservation Award to two organizations at their recent Annual Meeting held virtually on November 4. This is an annual award presented to individuals, agencies, or organizations that are recognized for their work in historic preservation in Alaska. The statewide organization is celebrating 40 years as an organization.

Four awards were presented this year; two were new categories implemented this year.

Grant Crosby, of Anchorage, was presented the Robert Mitchell Historic Architect Award for his efforts in the associated project, the Relocation of the Ascension of Our Lord Russian Orthodox Church at Village of Karluk, on Kodiak Island.

Grant is the Senior Historic Architect at the Alaska Regional Office, of the National Park Service.  He has spent his career dedicated to preserving numerous Alaska historic properties, one of the most recent being this Russian Orthodox Church project. 

The award was implemented this year in honor of member Robert Mitchell who passed away earlier this year. Mitchell worked in historic preservation for over three decades as an architect and an advocate for historic preservation.

Treadwell Historic Preservation and Restoration Society, Juneau, was awarded Organization: Adaptive Use for the restoration of the Treadwell Office Building of the Treadwell Gold Mining Company. The project was completed in late 2018 and now serves as a public open-air interpretive shelter. 

Howard and Juliana Farley, Nome, received the other new category award for Historic Preservation Advocacy.  The Farleys were awarded Lifetime Achievement for their involvement in the early years of the formation of the Iditarod Race along with Joe Reddington, Sr. and their preservation of the Jacob Berger/Sally Carrighar house. The Farleys bought the Victorian home in the late 1960s. It is one of the last buildings reflecting the gold rush era in Nome and is listed on the National Register for Historic Places.

Trish Neal, Anchorage, was presented the Lifetime Achievement in Historic Preservation award for her involvement in historic preservation for over thirty years. Neal was instrumental in the legislative funding of the Wrangell Totem Poles Replication and Shakes Island Tribal House restoration in the early 1990s. She has been involved in other historic restoration projects.  She has authored three books about Wrangell, Alaska history including almost 40 years or research on the Minnesota women who owned the garnet mine north of Wrangell on the mainland. She is currently the president of Preservation Alaska.

Past Excellence in Historic Preservation Award Winners

2020: Iditarod Historic Trail Alliance (IHTA)

             Fraternal Order of Alaska State Troopers

2019:  Janet Matheson
     Katie Ringsmuth/<NN>

Doris Thomas
             Lee Poleske
             Hugh & Iris Darling

2018:  No award given

2017:  Bob De Armond
            Bill De Armond

2016:  No award given

2015: Bob Mitchell

2014: Thad Poulson
            Jim Renkert   

2013: Sheri and Darrin Hamming

2012: No award given

2011: Mary Flaherty

2010: FONSS

Erin and Falene Reeve

 2009: Don Corwin
            Steve Peterson

2008: No info available

2007: Edwin Crittenden, FAIA
            Katharine  Crittenden
            Sam Combs, AIA
            Elayne Janiak